Arizona Dirt Racing Forum

This Forum Site Is For Discussing Anything To Do With Dirt Racing In Arizona

You are not connected. Please login or register

5th Annual Wes Hurst Memorial

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 5th Annual Wes Hurst Memorial on Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:24 am


15k Jackpot Up for Grabs
The 5th Annual Wes Hurst Memorial

Tucson, Arizona (August 28th, 2009) – For most Americans the end of November is a time for thanks but for USA Raceway it will be a time for giving as the top modified drivers in America will migrate to Tucson, Arizona for one of the richest modified payouts in the country. More than 80 drivers will be expected to take part in what will be one of the biggest Modified events of the year as drivers from all walks will look to add their name to prestigious list of winners.

The Wes Hurst Memorial which takes place on the weekend following Thanksgiving enters it 5th year and is anticipated to be the largest Modified event of 2009. The best of the best will tackle USA Raceway's 3/8-mile clay oval for three days on November 27, 28 and 29, with nearly $100,000 in prize money to be distributed over the course of the blockbuster event. An unprecedented $15,000 top prize awaits the eventual winner as that name will be added to past champions that include Christy Georges, Richie Tosh, Tommy Weider and 2008 winner Terry Phillips.

“This race is very important to me and the Hurst family and we wanted to give it the national recognition it deserves” commented Benji Lyons “With the payout we have now this should give all the modified drivers in the country a reason to come to USA Raceway.”

Christy Georges became the first winner of the Wes Hurst Memorial in 2005 also marking the richest win by a female driver in the Modified ranks. Georges went on to claim the 2006 BRA National Championship and has captured one victory at USA Raceway in 2009.

Richie Tosh from Salado Arkansas added his name to the list of Wes Hurst winners as he won the event in 2006. Tosh, a Batesville Motor Speedway standout, is expected to return to Tucson in 2009 and try to become the first repeat winner of the event.

Tommy Weider and Terry Phillips also captured the esteemed memorial victory in 2007 and 2008 respectively. Phillips is the defending WHM champion and will likely return to fight for his crown with hopes of taking home the 15k prize.

Entry forms for the $15,000 to win/$1,500 to start Wes Hurst Memorial can be found at

For a complete payout

Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Tucson Airport Courtyard by Marriott at 520-573-0000

USA Raceway is located east of Tucson off I-10 exit 268, then 1.6 miles south on Craycroft Road, which turns into Los Reales. For more information please, contact the track at 520-574-8515 or additional information regarding USA Raceway can be found at

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum